remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Innocence [Thursday, Jun. 02, 2005, 10:52 pm]

Sometimes I just wish that after children were born they were taken away to the hills and raised in a secret woodland house with no TV, no parties, no video games, and no stupid friends who pressure them to do stupid things. Sometimes I wish it was possible - that the young and innocent could somehow be hidden away from the world. Seems all it does is corrupt them.

Actually, I don't wish that because it couldn't be done in this world. But think of how much trouble and pain could be stopped if it was possible.

*sigh* Why do people do so many stupid things? Maybe that's one reason Jesus is so beautiful - he's the only one who never gave in.

That's one thing that annoys me about psychology - today we were learning about learning - and I know not all psychology is the same, but the approach often looks at humans like machines of some sort: if you treat someone a certain way, they'll do a certain thing. As if it was as simple as a mathematical equation, which it's not. Don't get me wrong, psychology is terribly interesting in the classroom, but to me its use in the real world is much more limited than some people seem to think.

But what do I know? I'm just a shy English major who works at a diner that's only half a mile away from my house. That's one point I forgot to make in my last entry - my "world" just seems so small sometimes. I don't need to travel 30 minutes from my house to do anything except go to amusement parks. Which seems weird considering I lived overseas for 5 years when I was young, but at the moment it feels like I'm living in a closet compared to what I could be doing.

Don't mind me, I'm just rambling.

*Laura*

Then Jesus said to him, "Begone, Satan! for it is written, 'You shall worship the Lord your God and him only shall you serve.'" Then the devil left him, and behold, angels came and ministered to him.

Matthew 4:10-11

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009