remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Memorial weekend [Sunday, May. 29, 2005, 7:59 pm]

Well, I've had quite a weekend. On Friday night I saw Revenge of the Sith again with some other people, including Beth and Doug. It was a good time. Like I've probably said before, I'm always more emotional the second time I watch an emotional movie. That part when Anakin drew his lightsaber in the Jedi temple in front of those kids - and then when Padme is pleading with him not to do what he's already done - I almost cried. If I'd been home alone (and therefore less self-conscious) I'm sure I would have been crying.

One of my favorite quotes from the movie, however, was not sob-worthy. I couldn't remember it the first time I saw it, but this time I was able to - it's the part when Darth Sidious and Yoda are fighting. Darth says something about how he will rule the empire and the jedi will fall - and then Yoda gets up with his lightsaber and says,

"Not if anything to say about it I have!"

He's just so funny. It may sound like he has terrible grammar, but in fact his speech is very similar to Latin, which almost always puts the verb at the end of the sentence.

Anyway, on Saturday I did indeed go to Funtown, and it only rained for about 10 minutes. I was so unbelievably tired when I got home. I suppose it was due to a combination of walking around the park all day, and getting jerked, dropped, spun, and whirled through the air all day on the variety of rides. But I had a great time. My 8-year-old brother went on the Dragon's Descent seven times (that's the one that drops you faster than the speed of gravity for 200 feet).

And tomorrow is Memorial Day. I have to be at work at 8, and so I don't know how else I'll be spending the holiday. But regardless, I'm very greatful for all those who have served (and are serving) in our military, and have helped keep us safe here. I read a bumper sticker once that said, "If you can read this, thank a teacher. And since you're reading it in English, thank a soldier."

*Laura*

"I don't know you anymore!"

-Padme-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009