remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I'll never be done wrangling about "what I want to do" [Tuesday, Apr. 26, 2005, 6:17 pm]

One of the girls I work with at the diner has decided to go to college in Boston next spring, and asked if I wanted to as well. Apparently she's trying to convince as many of her friends to go as she can, to share an apartment. I'm not so sure about going to college in a big city, and taking out loans when I could do it without loans right here.

To be honest, I've always wanted to "go" to college. But my parents aren't rich, so unless I get a ton of scholarships, the only way I'd be able to do that would be to take out loans. And I would be very hesitant to borrow such a large amount of money. I mean, it'd be one thing if I wanted to be a doctor, and planned to enter a job that guaranteed a high salary. But I'm an English major. I have absolutely no guarantees, unless I decided to become a teacher. Which I won't.

Actually, I've wondered about being a college professor. There's no way I'd be able to control a classroom of elementary-age public school kids. Not doing it. Partly because I was homeschooled - I have no idea how classes are run (or are supposed to be run) at that age. But teaching college students would be much different, since I know what it's like. It doesn't help that I'm one of these people who fears public speaking more than death, but what if, just maybe, I kinda grew out of that as I got older? (which I've been waiting to do since I'm always "getting older")

Almost everyone who finds out I'm an English major asks if I want to teach someday. And I always say no. But maybe I shouldn't completely abandon the faint possibility of being a professor someday - even though it would mean getting a Master's degree at least. Well, I'll keep it on the back burner of my mind. In the meantime I'd still love to get published. But that won't happen if I don't keep writing. And I can't do that until I finish up all this homework that I've been putting off.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009