remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My embarrassing moments, Chapter 937,837,583,293,858 [Tuesday, Mar. 29, 2005, 6:45 pm]

Yesterday at work was so weird. I was filling in for one of the waitresses again, and at one point some guy just came up to the counter, and... let's just say he looked kind of creepy. As in, unshaven, not many teeth left.

Well anyway, he starts asking me for a fork. Now that I think about it, he had probably bought something like a salad at the store and just wanted to eat it on the way home, but he kept asking for a metal fork. And he even offered to pay for one.

The problem was, he couldn't speak correctly - apparently he couldn't pronounce his r's. So when he came up and started asking for a fork, it sounded exactly like he was saying the f-word. I kid you not. So naturally, I had no idea how to respond, and could only say, "you want a WHAT?" And he kept repeating it and offered to pay me for one, and...yeah.

See, one of the waitresses there told me that sometimes the guys will give you crap, but said I should just ignore them or give it right back. So I thought it must be some cruel joke. So finally the cook comes out (he said he saw I was turning red, which I always do when I'm clueless in front of other people) and told the guy that we didn't sell metal forks, but that he could have a plastic one if he wanted (he later joked that the guy probably wanted it to stab someone with). By this time, I finally figured out what he was saying and realized that maybe it wasn't a joke. So I got him a plastic fork, and then he said he wanted four of them. So I gave him four. And he said thanks and left.

It was all quite embarrassing. But of course, the cook thought it was hilarious - so when I went in today he was like, "hey, can I have a fork?" Gosh, they're NEVER going to let me live this down.

Now that you've had yet another good laugh at my expense, does anyone need any more reasons as to why I don't like working with customers? Didn't think so.

*Laura*

"I am invisible, and I am wet."

-The Princess Diaries-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009