remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Literature [Saturday, Mar. 12, 2005, 7:27 pm]

This semester's literature class is actually encouraging me to write occasionally. We finished studying fiction, and now I wonder if short stories might be my thing. I never seem to have the patience to get more than a few chapters into a novel, so it may work better if I try writing shorter, more concise pieces. When I get around to trying, that is.

One thing I've noticed is that the most interesting short stories we've read seem to be focused on mentally disturbed people. Such as "A rose for Emily," and "The Cask of Amontillado." It's as if reading about normal people would be too boring, so they throw in some necrophilia and psychopathy to intrigue us. And I'm not complaining - I find it fascinating to try to unravel the themes and plots of mysterious stories like that.

Now we're moving on to poetry, which I have mixed feelings about. I've read some wonderful poems in my life, and I know some people who are very good at writing it. But some poems just seem too simple to be considered literature. I've read a few really short ones in the literature book which make me think, "Okay, I could've written something like that in 10 minutes if I knew it would be considered good." But then there are poems that are long, detailed, and rhyme beautifully, which obviously took hours or days to write. Those are the kinds that I admire.

I'm hoping that I'll become better at interpreting poetry during the next few weeks. And maybe even write some more of my own. Most of my poems aren't good enough to share, and I'm not saying this one necessarily is either, but I wrote it last night and it seems to reflect the short-verse style I seem to be developing. Maybe if I get better I'll be able to write with flowery language and ambiguous references like the good ones do.

Alive
But no one knows it
Lovely
But no one sees
Happy
When the doors are closed
Awake
Where all the rest are fast asleep

Afraid
But not discouraged
Tired
But not fatigued
Strong
When others falter
But alone
Because it's all inside of me

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009