remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Reasons [Monday, Feb. 21, 2005, 12:42 pm]

Everything happens for a reason, you know. Sometimes we find out what the reason was - sometimes we don't. And sometimes all we can do is come up with our own guesses as to why things don't always go our way.

Yesterday I had decided that this morning I would finally get out of the house by going shopping, and maybe stopping at the bank, then renting a movie, and stuff like that. Well, I wake up, look outside, and see snow coming down pretty swiftly. Darnit!

I sat up, and the room kinda spun. I went to the bathroom, and the whole time I was walking I felt dizzy. I think the last time I felt like this was about 6 or 7 years ago, the morning after I stupidly consumed 2 cans of soda, around 15 Hershey's kisses, and a bunch of animal crackers all in one sitting.

It's nothing serious, and I think it's finally starting to wear off, but I just don't like it, because I can't walk very far without feeling sick.

But then I thought, maybe there's a reason I'm feeling this way. Let's just say that I had woken up this morning and felt fine. When I looked out the window and saw the snow, I may very well have thought, "Aw, it's nothing. I'm a Maine girl, I can handle it - I'm going shopping!"

And let's say I came back later in the day when the snow was much worse, and slid on an icy section of the road, crashed, and was killed.

Well hey, you never know. I don't like just sitting around the house with nothing much to do besides listening to music and going online, when that's exactly what I've been doing all weekend. But I have no way of knowing what might have happened if I'd gone off and been stuck in a worsening snowstorm.

So next time you're disappointed in something that didn't turn out the way you wanted it, just consider it a blessing in disguise. We have no way of knowing how many troubles we've been spared of in this life.

*Laura*

Aragorn: "Are you frightened?"
Frodo: "Yes."
Aragorn: "Not nearly frightened enough - I know what hunts you."

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009