remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

All the junk I'm holding onto [Friday, Jan. 07, 2005, 4:39 pm]

Too much serious writing has gone on here lately - time for a nice day-log.

Well, there is some good news and bad news about my internet connection. Good news is that I have the internet back in my room, so I can use it on my laptop again. The bad news is that in order to make it work, I ended up somehow resetting the computer to the way it was when I got it - or close to that - most of the software I installed since then is still here, but all my personal files and settings were gone.

I had no idea it was going to do that. I'm pretty sure I followed the steps in the tech support e-mail exactly as they said, so I don't know what happened.

All I can say is, I am SO SO glad I copied all of my word documents and photos onto a CD a few days ago, so I have them all back now. If I had lost all that in the twinkling of an eye, well, I would have cried. Of course, I don't have everything back. I did some work on a document a few days ago after the copy, so I'll have to redo that. And my entire 20-song iTunes playlist is gone. I still have all those songs on CD too, but it's not the same as just listening to them on my computer whenever I want.

This may sound silly, but one thing I miss is looking at the play counts on all of my songs. See, iTunes keeps track of how many times you listen to each song. So I like to go and look occasionally at the play counts and see what songs I've listened to the most, least, etc. I still have the music, but I'll miss being able to keep track of it like that.

Sometimes I wonder what it would be like if I could somehow view the detailed statistics on every aspect of my life. Like, what song have I listened to the most times, ever? What movie have I watched the most? How many slices of pizza have I eaten in my lifetime? It probably sounds like dumb stuff, but it intrigues me just thinking about it. Who knows, maybe someday I will be able to find out the answers to those miniscule but interesting questions that only God knows the answers to.

Anyway, maybe somehow this has been good for me. Maybe I need to let go a little bit, and know that no matter how useful and fulfilling a computer/internet can be, no one should allow it to take over their lives, or give it too much of their attention. Perhaps that's something I had been doing a little too much of.

*Laura*

"Well anyway, where was I? Oh yes, on this chair."

-Groucho Marx-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009