remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

When I grow up... [Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005, 4:41 pm]

"What do you want to be when you grow up?"

We've all been asked that a million times while we were kids. I wanted to be a doctor at first, and then a dentist. Probably because those were the only careers I knew about as a young child.

I'm actually still being asked the same question, only now it's phrased in a more "educated" way: "What are your career objectives?"

Is "I don't know yet" an acceptable answer? Most people assume that because I'm an English major, it means I want to teach English. Not true. I have enough trouble controlling three kids (non-siblings) at once - there's no way I could keep an entire classroom under control. My mom has told me about her disastrous attempt to teach kids as well (before she became a homeschooler).

I don't believe it's because I'm a bad teacher - it's just that I wasn't made for classroom education. A lot of people weren't. I have a quiet voice, and don't command any kind of authority - kids would walk all over me, and unfortunately, teachers aren't allowed to punish kids the way they were in the "olden days".

No, I couldn't be a teacher - not in the classroom sense. So what do I want to be? Sometimes I wonder why we have to have goals. I remember the phrase, "If you aim at nothing, you're sure to hit it." But what if you set unrealistic goals just for the sake of setting them, and end up discouraged?

On girl in my English class said people always asked if she wanted to teach too, and she just said yes to satisfy them, even though it wasn't true. I wouldn't say that, although it's still kind of funny. And it helps me to know that I'm not the only English major who doesn't have my future entirely ironed out.

Sometimes I wonder if all these questions are causing some students to become disillusioned - thinking they're supposed to know exactly what they want to do when they graduate. I don't know yet, but I've decided to just be honest and say that instead of pretending I have a plan all hatched. There are plenty of things I'd like to do - I want to write a book someday, I want to pursue photography and see where it takes me, and I've wondered about trying to contribute to a magazine someday.

But the future hasn't happened yet - so I won't weigh it down with my cumbersome plans. How about if I just follow where God takes me instead?

*Laura*

"Money will never make you happy. And happy will never make you money. That might be a wisecrack, but I doubt it."

-Groucho Marx-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009