remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Shouldn't they call it a Red Sox swap? [Saturday, Dec. 18, 2004, 10:04 pm]

We have a TREE! Finally.

I had to waitress today, *shivers*. And I had to man the cash register, for the first time in my life. Yes, I've made it 18 years without learning how to use a cash register, but I finally had to start this morning. And I only made one mistake with it in less than 3 hours. I'd consider that a great accomplishment, for someone like me.

Fortunately, it wasn't busy, so I did much better than the first time I attempted waitressing *shivers again*. I prayed that everyone would be off Christmas shopping or something.

My Christmas "shopping" is basically done. I did go to Wal*mart today (I don't know why I insist on spelling it like that) to pick up one last picture frame. The place was swarming. I find it ironic that we seemingly have to go through this big month-long rat race just to get to that one quiet morning on Christmas day.

For some reason, I've had the song from Duck Soup stuck in my head all day. Sometimes for no reason I'll just start singing,

"If any form of pleasure is exhibited
Report to me and it will be prohibited
I'll put my foot down - so shall it be
This is the land of the free

Hail, hail Freedonia..."

I'm weird.

Tonight a bunch of people from my church (50 at least) met at the house of our bassist for a 'yankee swap'. It was so much fun - I laughed so hard my mouth hurts. Basically everyone brings a present - they can be nice, or cheapo. And they're opened one at a time, but when you open one, you can keep it or trade it with someone who's already opened theirs. There are always a few presents that everyone wants, that get traded several times. This year it was an automatic foot-massager, a stuffed moose, and a blinking red nose.

I ended up with a plastic Red Sox championship mug from Dunkin' donuts. Yay! Now I have something stylish to take my gatorade to school in.

Tata!

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009