remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So what's it like, anyway? [Saturday, Dec. 11, 2004, 2:44 pm]

I was reading something interesting about one of Harpo Marx's kids - she was adopted, and whenever someone asked her what it was like to be adopted, she would always respond with, "What's it like to not be adopted?" I just think that's an extremely clever answer.

When you think about it, "What's it like to be adopted?" is a very ignorant question, because it's like asking a child to compare two things when they've obviously only experienced one of them.

Even though I'm not adopted, I've been asked a question in that form before. Something along the lines of, "What's it like to be homeschooled?" Well, to me it was simply normal, because it was all I'd ever known before I started attending college. I never really knew how to answer questions like that, because I couldn't compare it with someone else's experience at a public school when I've obviously only experienced homeschooling. But now I have the perfect response. When people ask me what it was like to be homeschooled, I'll simply answer with, "What was it like to not be homeschooled?"

Thank you, Minnie Marx.

*Laura*

Have a holly, jolly Christmas
It's the best time of the year
I don't know if there'll be snow
But have a cup of cheer

Have a holly, jolly Christmas
And when you walk down the street
Say Hello to friends you know
And everyone you meet

Oh, ho, the mistletoe
Hung where you can see
Somebody waits for you
Kiss her once for me

Have a holly jolly Christmas
And in case you didn't hear
Oh by golly
Have a holly jolly Christmas this year


wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009