remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

What's so fun about gambling? [Tuesday, Dec. 07, 2004, 6:57 pm]

It may be the most wonderful time of the year, but it's also the most commercial time of the year. Businesses are polluting the airwaves with their ideas and telling us why their products would be the perfect gifts for everyone on our Christmas lists. Sure, happens every year. But there's one that I've never really understood:

The lottery.

Apparently, according to the lottery itself, lottery tickets make perfect gifts, and are SO much fun to play. I'm not so sure about that. I've wasted money on things before, and "fun" isn't exactly the word I'd use to describe how it felt.

That's why these commerials for Powerball and the Maine state lottery always make me laugh, because they're just so pathetic. My dad's always referred to the lottery as "the tax on the stupid". I'm glad to say that I've never had to pay it. And it makes me sad to see ordinary working-class people spending so much money on this, hoping to win it big someday. Seems most of the people who do it are the ones who can least afford it.

-------------------------------------------------

I've found another good thing about being a Northerner - we get snow days. I never got snow days as a homeschooler, so this is a new phenomenon for me. But maybe finals week isn't the best time to be worrying about the weather. Oh well...

........................................................

Did anyone hear that Orlando Bloom has apparently become a Buddhist? That's wild.

*Laura*

I don't want a lot for Christmas
There is just one thing I need
I don't care about presents
Underneath the Christmas tree
I don't need to hang my stocking
There upon the fireplace
Santa Claus won't make me happy
With a toy on Christmas day
I just want you for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true
All I want for Christmas is you...

I won't ask for much this Christmas
I won't even wish for snow
I'm just gonna keep on waiting
Underneath the mistletoe
I won't make a list and send it
To the North Pole for Saint Nick
I won't even stay awake to
Hear those magic reindeer click
'Cause I just want you here tonight
Holding on to me so tight
What more can I do?
Baby all I want for Christmas is you
You...

All the lights are shining
So brightly everywhere
And the sound of children's
Laughter fills the air
And everyone is singing
I hear those sleigh bells ringing
Santa won't you bring me the one I really need -
Won't you please bring my
Baby to me

Oh I don't want a lot for Christmas
This is all I'm asking for
I just want to see my baby
Standing right outside my door
Oh I just want him for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true
Baby all I want for Christmas is
You...
All I want for Christmas is you baby

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009