remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

CHRISTmas [Sunday, Dec. 05, 2004, 12:44 pm]

Merry Christmas! Notice I said Christmas rather than "Xmas". I hate that stupid shortening of it. I think it's obvious as to why it's done. I didn't know this, but apparently, at our local elementary school, teachers aren't even allowed to say or write the word "Christmas". It's "the holiday season". Oh puh-leez.

Children are also hushed up for daring to suggest that Santa Clause doesn't exist. Apparently "freedom of speech" only applies to those who aren't mentioning anything to do with God. I'm so glad I was homeschooled.

I've never seen the point of parents lying to children and telling them that Santa Clause is real. When I have kids, I'm going to tell them the truth: St. Nick was a real person, but Santa Clause isn't. It's perfectly fine to pretend about him - children need to pretend. But they also need to know the difference between pretend and real. I especially worry when Christian parents tell their kids these things. "Santa Clause is real; The Easter Bunny is real; The tooth fairy is real; Oh yeah, and there's a guy named Jesus who's real too and died for your sins." Later, children all learn that there's no such thing as Santa Clause or the Easter Bunny or the Tooth Fairy - so why are we so surprised when they fall away from their faith in God too?

Children really want to believe that there's someone who's bigger than them - it's only natural. Unfortunately, that belief is oftentimes directed towards someone who has a lot of the same attributes as God ("he sees you when you're sleeping, he knows when you're awake. He knows if you've been bad or good..."), but isn't God. I don't think they need to lose those beliefs as they get older - they just need to attribute them to someone who's real, not just a fake made-up character.

*Laura*

My version of this song...

Have yourself a merry little CHRISTmas
Let your heart be light
Next year all our troubles will be out of sight

Have yourself a merry little Christmas
Make the yuletide happy
Next year all our troubles will be miles away

Once again, as in olden days
Happy golden days of yore
Faithful friends who are dear to us
Will be near to us once more

Through the years, we all will be together
If God will allow
Until then, we'll have to muddle through somehow
So have yourself a merry little Christmas now


wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009