remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Thursday. [Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004, 10:18 pm]

So, how has my day been, you ask? First of all, thanks for asking! So, today I had 2 classes, and was gone for 10 hours straight, as I am on all Thursdays.

We got a tour of the campus library for the first half of English class. Fun fun. During the second half, we went over some newspaper letters to the editor, because we all have to write one of our own in the next two weeks. One of the letters was kinda funny. Some Kerry supporter was calling people names and going on and on about how the election was rigged, and since Bush won the world would stop turning and we'd be forced to move to Canada, or something to that extent. Our professor used it as an example of how NOT to construct our arguements.

Somehow I don't understand why people seriously say things like, "well if so-&-so gets elected, then I'm moving to Canada/Britain/Australia/etc.!" Come on people, do you only support your country when the person YOU want is president? In a land of 200+ million people, it's impossible to please everyone. So stop expecting it. And guess what? Canada, Britain, and Australia all have messed up governments too. Just thought I should warn you.


Anyway, to get on with my OH SO EXCITING day, I spent 5 hours in the photo lab, printing pictures. It wasn't my best day ever. I developed a roll of film which turned out to be the crappiest I've done so far. I think it's because I switched cameras as an experiment, but it didn't work out, so I'm going back to the first one.

This last assignment I'm working on is all about "time". So I'm trying to get a few stop-action shots. It isn't working so well. This is probably the only time that I wish I were using a point & shoot camera, because with manual, I have to adjust the light meter, and focus, and zoom, and that's not easy for action shots.

I was trying to get a picture this morning of leaves falling from the trees. I probably looked like an idiot, chasing falling leaves around with my camera, not that there are many left to fall. So finally, I just set up the camera the way I wanted it, threw a handful of dead leaves in the air, and took a picture. It actually turned out kinda nice. When all else fails, create action yourself. This is why I would much rather take pictures of things that DON'T MOVE. Oh well, we'll see what happens with it...

I must be getting to bed. Goodnight world.

*Laura*

"Don't look now, but there's one man too many in this room, and I think it's you."

-Groucho Marx-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009