remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

"I wish they all could be New England girls..." [Tuesday, Oct. 26, 2004, 5:04 pm]

I love the Beach Boys, but there's this one song they did that rather annoys me. There's an oft-repeated line in it that goes, "I wish they all could be California girls...", and as a whole, they sing about how California girls just better than girls from other parts of the country.

Now I know, it's just a dumb song, I shouldn't take it too seriously - but what's up with that? Why do they think all girls would want to be from California? I sure wouldn't.

There used to be a girl in my Varsity group who was from San Diego, and right around this time of year was when she would start complaining about the cold, and telling us all how much better it was back in California. It was so annoying.

For one thing, she was constantly basing her talk on the assumption that warm weather is always better, and therefore San Diego must be better, because it's warm all year long. I disagree. Just because we actually have seasons up here in Maine, doesn't mean one is necessarily better than the others. Why would anyone want it to be exactly the same all year round? That sounds boring to me.

The funniest thing was that she apparently thought she could stay warm in the harsh New England winters by simply layering a few more spaghetti-strap tanks under her leather jacket. Because she was too proud to go out and buy herself a big fat coat.

I have a nice bulky winter jacket. So what if it makes me look 40 pounds larger? At least I stay warm!

I don't come from the land of botox, "The OC", insanely priced housing, overcrowded beaches, or boring weather. I come from New England. And I'm still waiting for a guy who will write a song about New England girls. And if no one does, then I think I'm going to attempt it myself, no matter how horrible it sounds.

But wait a minute - the Beach Boys are still around, aren't they? I think I'm going to write them a letter...

;-)

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009