remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Art is as art does [Saturday, Oct. 23, 2004, 1:09 pm]

One thing I've been encouraged to do in English class this semester, is to discover my own writing "voice". And even though I know what that means, it still confuses me at times.

I was reading the notes my professor wrote on my papers, and at least two of them contained the adjective "graceful". Is my writing graceful? I don't look at it like that at all.

I get confused sometimes when I hear people make reference to my writing "voice". It makes me think, "Wait - I have a voice?" To me, my writing is just...writing. I don't try to make it sound any particular way, it just comes out the way I write it.

I don't really know what my "voice" is, because I certainly don't look at my writing the way other people do. And I think the same thing goes for photography.

When we had our first "critique", more than one person said my pictures were "peaceful", and my professor said there was a tenderness in some of them too. I don't always see that. I know my pictures are different from everyone else's, but I don't completely know how. I actually see more similarities than differences.

It's like my appearance, in that, I don't completely know what I look like. Now obviously I can look in the mirror to catch a glimpse of my appearance (which isn't always enjoyable ;-)), but I don't know what I'm like, or how others percieve me. That's the word - perceive.

I don't know how others will perceive my writing, and my prints. Because it always seems very different, if not opposite, from the way I perceive them. And each person will have a slightly different perception of them as well.

But maybe it's better this way. Maybe this simply means that I'm more concerned about expressing myself rather than trying to manipulate my art to please those who read/look at it. Can it even be considered art? Never mind, I won't even try to get into that.

*Laura*

"It's better to be a first-rate version of yourself than a second-rate version of someone else."

-Judy Garland-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009