remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Some things will never change [Saturday, Oct. 16, 2004, 6:12 pm]

It's funny how things change. "Things" is obviously a very general term though, isn't it? So let's get specific: Taste buds change. I used to like mushrooms. Now I can't stand those pieces of rubberized fungi. I used to drink soda. Now I detest that flavored acidic sugar water.

Artsy tastes change. When I was a kid, my favorite color was pink. As I got older, it changed to baby blue. Now I'd consider my favorite color to be lavender, but who knows how long that's going to last?

Musical tastes change. My favorite style used to be pop, but now it's either rap or metal. But I never would have thought that I'd listen to classical music like Lord of the Rings soundtracks for hours on end. There are some songs that I used to be crazy about and would listen to over and over. Now I can't stand them.

Feelings change. At some point, certain boys can seem so appealing. I once felt like I'd "love" him forever, just because of how I felt. When the crush abruptly ended, I was, well, crushed. Now he never even e-mails me. And guess what? It's okay. Life goes on as usual. My 16-year-old feelings seem so silly now, although I didn't think so at the time.

Surroundings change. I've moved 4 times in my life, twice internationally. From Maryland, to Scotland, to a city in Maine, to a town in Maine, to a different house in that town in Maine. No matter how drastic the move, getting used to the different neighborhood and surroundings can be tough. Making new friends can be tougher. Maybe I've just given up on that. Forget the "new" friends. Why can't I just have my old ones back?

Hobbies change. I used to be wild about making friendship bracelets. Now it's been months since I've made one. Maybe the job and other things have caused me to lose interest in that hobby. I used to collect stamps too, a long time ago. I don't even know where I stashed my collection.

Responsibilities change. This is one of the most obvious changes there is. I went from being dependent on my parents for every single bath and diaper change, to driving myself to work, and attending college. I'm now considered an "adult", whatever that is. I'm old enough to vote, and should be responsible when choosing a candidate.

And then, mindsets often change along with the other things. This is really what gave me the idea for this whole entry. Each day, I go back to one of my old diaries from one year earlier, and read through the entry I wrote for that day. A few days ago I read an entry in which I contended that I would NEVER apply to the college I happen to be attending now, and that I really didn't want to apply to the place I happen to be working at now. Yes, it's funny how things change.

I admit, big changes often scare me, because I've grown very comfortable in my comfort zone. But change is part of life. Life is change. Without change, you're not really living - you're just existing. And while I'm trying to minimize the extremity of each change, I should be grateful that I'm not who I was before. I'm still me, but I'm a different me. I'm changing, whether I like it or not.

You know what the best part is? God never changes. I can go through a million changes in my vapor of a lifetime, and He's still the same as He was 6,000 years ago. That's awesome.

One of my favorite illustrations is when Paul had been arrested for teaching about Jesus, and they're trying to figure out what to do with him. One of his friends is finally able to convince them that if Christianity was really false, it would die out eventually, and they had nothing to worry about. But if it was true, then who were they to try to stop it?

That was an awfully long time ago. Nowadays, a lot of people follow the religion of Darwinism, commonly known as "evolution". That was invented around 150 years ago, and there are many who say that Darwinism is finally in decline. I believe one reason is because the theory has done nothing but change as more information has come to light. It seems every "account" of evolution that I hear uses different numbers and different orders of events.

It's a great feeling to be anchored to the Rock. As Tobymac would say:

"Been on a roll for 2,000 years or so - we've got momentum, baby!"

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009