remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

College and gas tanks [Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2004, 10:09 pm]

I found out from one of my fellow photo people that apparently John Edwards' wife spoke at my school/college today. I don't like to call it "my school", because that sounds childish, but "my college" sounds even worse. How about, "the college I take my photography class at"? That works, I suppose. But anyway, I had better things to pay attention to - making pictures!

I spent almost 6 hours in the darkroom today, doing photography stuff. After I get home, one of my parents usually ask me, "So did you get everything done that you wanted to?" I usually respond with, "Um, I guess so." Because it seems that there's always more to be done. But it's fun.

Looking back, I'm actually glad that I was feeling overwhelmed after my first photography class, because I think that feeling caused me to work a lot harder, and just dive right into it. There's nothing wrong with having a good amount of knowledge in a course before you take it, but it can also be a bad thing if you think you can just ease through it without doing anything.

That makes me think of one of the guys in my algebra class. He kept talking about how "easy" it was, and how he knew it all, and didn't need to do the homework, blah blah blah. Well, after the first exam, he ended up with a score that was 5 points lower than the class average, which wasn't very good either. Let's just say it was in the "F" range.

I scored more than 30 points higher than him. Not because I'm a genius at math, but simply because I did more than the minimum homework assignments, and checked my answers very carefully on the exam. Algebra really hasn't been that hard. It's just sooooo boooooring. If there's one class I have that could put me to sleep, algebra would do it. History is a close second. But English and Photography are awesome.

One more random thing and then I'm going to bed: I actually put gas in my car today. All by myself. Now, it's not that I've never pumped gas before. And I put gas in my parents' minivan all by my lonesome last week. But the thing is, I can never remember which side the tank is on, because it seems to be different on every vehicle...

See, I pulled up to the pump, parked, and got out. Then I realized, 1), I was much too far away from the pump and would have to pull up a bit, and 2), the gas tank wasn't even on that SIDE of the car. Sooo, I drove around and did a U in the parking lot, then pulled up on the other side of the pump. As soon as I park, I pull up on the lever that opens the gas tank. Or, I thought it was the right lever. I ended up opening my trunk instead, and had to run around to close it after I shut the engine off.

So I'm wondering what the people watching me must be thinking. ("Uh-oh... she doesn't really think the gas goes BACK THERE, does she?") It's a good thing I work at that place. Whose bright idea was it to vary the positioning of cars' gas tanks? Why not put the openings on the same side for every vehicle? It would save ditzes like me a whole lot of confusion.

Goodnight.

*Laura*

"The only thing consistent about my opponent's position is that he's been inconsistent. He changes positions. And you cannot change positions in this war on terror if you expect to win."

-George W. Bush-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009