remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Venison and Logarithms [Wednesday, Sept. 08, 2004, 9:41 pm]

Do you want to know one of the worst ways to ruin a perfectly good plate of spaghetti? Put venison in it, instead of beef. That's what I had last night. Yucko. I'm sure there are plenty of people in this state who like venison, but I'm definitely not one of them. The thing is, these people who go hunting end up with more meat than they can handle, so they, good naturedly, give it away to their friends, such as my parents.

And then my mom contaminates my spaghetti with it. Okay, so maybe it's just me. But after a few bites, everything about it tasted and smelled like Deer. Blech.

Yes, there will always be some things about Maine that I don't like, but then, that would be the case anywhere.

I've been busy with school lately. Photography is taking up a lot of my time, and I'm stressing about when my expensive supplies will get here.

I could talk about a lot of things tonight. Some of them would make sense, and some of them wouldn't. How about if I just share something good about my algebra class? (yes, believe it or not!)

Well, one of my biggest peeves in high school Algebra 2 was logarithms. They're even harder to do than they are to spell. The one thing I was able to figure out is that logarithms are basically exponents. Everything after that just totally lost me.

So when I first got my college algebra book and was looking through it, I got to chapter 9 out of the 10 that are in the book and thought, "Oh joy - I have to do logarithms."

Well, on the first day of class (last week), the professor handed out the syllabi. And after glancing over the schedule a few times, I realized with wonder and joy that, lo and behold, we're only doing up to chapter 8! Seriously, the schedule only goes that far, and then it's the final exam. Am I really going to be able to get through college math without having to deal with the accursed logarithms?? It sure looks that way.

Glory Hallelujiah!!

All right, I think that's enough good news for one day.

*Laura*

Han Solo: "I think my eyes are getting better. Instead of a big dark blur, I see a big light blur."
Luke Skywalker: "There's nothing to see. I used to live here, you know."
Han Solo: "You're going to die here, you know. Convenient."

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009