remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The Passion of the Christ [Sunday, Sept. 05, 2004, 12:48 pm]

I forgot to add one item to the previous entry's list: doing school on weekends. Believe it or not, I've never had to do that as a homeschooler. But now there are some things that I have to either do every day, or cram into the 5-day week, and I don't want to do any cramming if I can help it.

Oh, yesterday I finally watched another movie on my "movies I would like to see someday" list (I really should write that list out, just so I know what I'm dealing with): "The Passion of the Christ".

Overall I thought it was very well-done. Sure, some of the "literary license" was kind of weird, but some of it was also poignant. I liked how they added the devil in some scenes - it made the conflict seem more real. Even though there are a few things that I could nit-pick about, I think Mel Gibson captured the heart of the story, which is really the most important part. I just wish that a bit more attention had been given to the resurrection. Oh well.

I know one of the major issues surrounding this movie is the violent content. And yes, it was very violent. But I was expecting it, so it didn't really shock me, at least in that way. I'm not saying it didn't affect me - it did. But, I think one reason there's been so much hullabaloo about the violence is that most non-Christian people who watched it probably weren't expecting it to be so gory. But I was.

For someone like me, who's read the story many times, and understands that the crucifiction was brutal...well, I knew what was going to happen. Whereas, non-Bible-reading people probably wouldn't have. So yes, the movie is bloody, but people talk about the gore as if that's the only thing that happens - it's not! There's a whole complete story here, which eventually leads up to Jesus' trial and death. The dialog was effective (did you know the Aramaic word for Judas sounds a lot like Yoda? At least, I'm assuming it was Aramaic...). And I thought the music was touching too.

So what I'm trying to say is: I don't like blood & gore at all, but I'm very glad I watched this movie. Because it wasn't all about blood. It was also about love. And hypocrisy. And a conflict against the devil. And the facial expressions and feelings of the women who were watching Jesus die. And the change that comes over Simon, the man who carried Jesus' cross. At first, he protested, and didn't want to do it. But when it was over, he didn't want to leave.

Yes, it's only a movie. I'm sure the real crucifiction was much different. But after I saw it, I just had to stop and thank Jesus for what He did for us all. And that's something I definitely don't do often enough.

*Laura*

"Forgive them, Father. They know not what they do."

-Jesus-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009