remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Return of the day-log!! [Wednesday, Sept. 01, 2004, 2:37 pm]

Well, the first part of my week has been interesting. I've had 3 classes so far, and they've been okay. Looks like I'll have a full semester ahead. I'm SO glad that I decided to take 4 courses this year instead of 5. It's just better this way.

History class is cool, because all I really have to do is read and study. Although class participation is 20% of my grade, wow. Now, obviously since this is a state-run school, the curriculum is going to be liberal, which means I'll need to take everything with a grain of salt.

One thing I don't like about history is that, since they believe this ridiculous idea that we evolved from amoebae, they're trying to make us think that we are gradually getting better and better. The idea they're trying to sell seems to be: people in the 1700's were dumb. People nowadays are smart. Of course, in order to make everyone happy, they have to take care to discredit all of the Europeans who remarked that the Native Americans were "uncivilized", because that would make them unhappy.

So it's inconsistent, but my professor did make a very good point: all history is biased. Even if I were to get up there and give my conservative view on history, it would still be biased. So I'll just think for myself instead of believing everything I hear - how's that?

Photography class was - interesting. My first impressions from class introductions tell me that I'm probably the youngest, as well as the most inexperienced of all 6 girls in the class. But classes are for learning though - aren't they? The professor is cool - she seems a lot like Mia Thermopolis from the Princess Diaries, at least in the way that she talks.

It wasn't until after I read the syllabus that I found out there were about a million other supplies (other than a camera and book) that I had no idea I would need. Last night I spent over $70 ordering stuff online, and that's not even half of it. Gosh, I was stressed. Listen kids, there's absolutely nothing glamorous about putting things on a credit card - either way, it's your money that you're using to pay for it.

And today was my infamous math class. And I forgot to bring my calculator. What a ditz. Somehow, my professor reminds me of a cross between my Grandpa, and Benjamin Franklin. By the end of the 3-hour ordeal, my attention span was waning. But I'm very glad to say that nothing in the first class was over my head. That's a good sign, isn't it? Perhaps there is some light at the end of the tunnel.

So far, I would say that my photography class looks to be the hardest, just because of the extra time, money, and travel it will involve. Hopefully it'll be worth it.

Okay, enough rambling about classes. Gosh, I envy those of you who are still in high school this year. Actually, I envy my 3-year-old brother - he gets to play all day. Sheesh.

*Laura*

"My school was so tough the school newspaper had an obituary section."

-Norm Crosby-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009