remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Summer games, Athens, 2004! [Monday, Aug. 16, 2004, 5:49 pm]

This entry is going to be all about the Olympics. Sorry if this won't be interesting to some people. But other than Lord of the Rings, nothing but the Olympics can keep me in front of the TV for hours on end.

Well, I would have to say that the summer Olympics are definitely more interesting to me than the winter games are. In winter, pretty much everything that people do involves either skis or ice skates, but the summer games have so much more variety.

First off, does anyone else think Ian Thorpe is cute? Or am I the only one? Moving on to another Ian....

Last night I watched Ian Crocker in the men's swimming relay. Guess where he's from? Portland, Maine!!! Although, he ended up with the slowest time of anyone in the whole race, but that's a minor detail, (he was sick, so you can't blame him too much).

I also watched parts of the USA men's first basketball game, even though I don't really like basketball. They lost pretty badly. I hope this doesn't sound mean, but I'm glad they did. Those NBA guys needed a wake-up call, and maybe a little ego-deflation as well. They need to realize that they can't just march out onto the court and beat any team in the world without even trying.

I'd have to say that my favorite sport to watch is gymnastics, mainly women's, because it's such an intricate sport. There's so much more involved than just getting from point A to point B, like there is in other Olympic events.

The US women are doing okay, but I have a feeling that the Chinese girls are going to get the gold - they're good. Gee, I'm not sounding very patriotic here, am I? I usually root for the Americans. But I think it's perfectly okay to root for people from other countries occasionally, if I think they deserve it. I do want the men's US gymnastics team to win though; see?

I want to see some syncronized diving soon. That's another event that involves a lot more than just speed and muscle.

*Laura*

"It's been a goal since I started swimming to have a world record some day."

-Ian Crocker- (and he does!)

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009