remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Humor spiel [Saturday, Aug. 14, 2004, 1:00 pm]

"Now you could study Shakespeare and be quite an elite
And you can charm the critics and have nothin' to eat
But slip on a banana peel, the world's at your feet
Make 'em laugh
Make 'em laugh
Make 'em laugh!

I love that song. Humor is a gift, isn't it? There are times to be serious, certainly. Sometimes it seems like there's really nothing to laugh about. And that's probably when we need it the most.

One of my goals is to have just the right balance of seriousness and silliness in my life. I want to have a sense of humor - I want to be able to just make people laugh in real life, for once, without worrying about how I look when I do it. I don't want to be one of those rigid and stuffy people who never have any fun.

But at the same time, I need to know when to take things seriously, and when not to carry jokes too far.

Some people are just so funny - they have the gift for it. Donald O'Connor, the guy who sang the above song, seems to have been one of those. A few days ago, I watched a short clip of him talking. He was talking about something ordinary, that wasn't meant to be funny, but just the way he said it, and the facial expressions he made, got me laughing. Maybe it's just me - there are times when I laugh at almost anything. But I'm still convinced that he's gifted.

Some people are just like that - it's not necessarily what they say that's funny, it's how they say it. I don't think I'll ever be like that - I'm too serious-looking (at least, I think I am. I don't think anyone's ever told me I'm silly-looking).

But I'm glad I have at least something of a sense of humor. I'm sure it'll never make me famous, but even if the only thing I end up doing is making my little siblings laugh, that's probably enough.

*Laura*

"I want to thank the Academy for the lifetime achievement award which I will eventually receive."

-Donald O'Connor- (near the end of his life)

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009