remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Josh Groban, and designer clothes [Thursday, Aug. 12, 2004, 11:30 am]

Yesterday was our last big youth group event of the summer - shopping at the Portland mall. I got some pretty cool things. One was an Orlando Bloom poster, which looks very nice on the back of my door (since there's no more room on the walls of my little room). It's this one:

In its rolled-up state, it also doubled nicely as a stick to whack my little sisters over the head with, and as a pole to carry my bags on - very handy.

I also got a CD. I'll give you a hint: it was one I was looking for a few days ago, but the store was out of them. Yes, "Closer", by Josh Groban. I listened to it on the way home, it's very good. A lot of the other kids on the van were looking at the inside of the CD case (under the CD part), where it says:

"printed on Deja Vu matte coated paper, consisting of 10% hemp/flax, 50% post-consumer waste, 20% pre-consumer waste and 20% responsibly harvested wood from Living Tree Paper, www.livingtreepaper.com"

After reading that, Chris remarked, "He looks like some new-age hippie guy." Haha! Although personally, I think Josh looks a lot like a younger version of Gene Wilder. Maybe it's the hair.

Anyway, I think it takes me a while to really get used to Mr. Groban's CD's, for some reason. When I got his first one, I admit there were only a few songs that I really liked at first. But the more I listened to it, the better it got. Maybe it's all the foreign languages that take getting used to. "Oceano" is wonderful though.

One thing I don't like about youth group shopping trips is that we all have to stay in groups, which means sometimes I have to spend considerable amounts of time in stores that bore me. I know, I can't be selfish. But I just can't figure out the point of buying designer clothes. At all.

It seems to me that the main point of shopping at a place like, say, Aeropostle (I probably butchered the spelling, but who cares), is so that you can buy clothes at 3 to 4 times the price you can buy them elsewhere. And the only main difference in appearance is that these clothes have the designer name plastered on them.

I don't get it. Some kids will spend incredible amounts of moolah, just to advertise for a clothing brand that did nothing to deserve such free advertising in the first place. I think it's a conspiracy on the part of the designers: make your clothing expensive so that not all kids will be able to afford it. Then the kids that have it will think it makes them "cool". Then the kids who don't have it will blow their dough on it in hopes that other kids will think they're "cool" too.

Some companies really know how to take advantage of teen peer pressure. And it appears to be working great. Apparently it's an easy thing to get sucked into though - I probably would too, if I wasn't so cheap.

My idea on clothes is - as long as it's cheap and looks decent, I'll buy it. And there really isn't much that fits into that category in places like Pac Sun and Abercrombie. Sears and Wal*mart work for me.

*Laura*

"...just as civil law is the expression of human will, so also natural law is the expression of God's will and wisdom."

-Vernon Grounds-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009