remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Another story excerpt [Monday, Jul. 26, 2004, 8:14 pm]

Why am I so lazy? I say I want to publish a novel someday, and yet I have all this free time and I've hardly spent any time working on the pathetic few chapters that I have. *groan*. Well, since I'm so lazy, I really haven't done much or thought of much today that's worth writing about. So I'm going to put up an excerpt from another story in my head, just in case any of you are as bored as I am and want something more to read. This isn't my main one, it's just...another one. I have too many stories, I know. I start a few and don't finish a single one of them.


Chelle leaned forward expectantly in her seat as Mrs. Krebach made the announcement she had long desired to hear: �And now, I�m sure you are all eager to meet the director of this program, who is going to give you all a basic overview of what you will be learning this year, and what is be expected of you. Say hello to: Tim Rowen!�

Chelle craned her neck to look as he walked across the platform, telling herself that she must have been the first person in the room to actually catch a glimpse of him. He was greeted with loud applause from all of the students, and smiled in a friendly manner as he stepped up to the microphone. �Thank you very much,� he said in his smooth British accent, as he scanned the crowd with his eyes. Chelle suddenly realized that she had a big grin on her face at hearing just the sound of his voice, and quickly reduced it as he looked her way. She felt as though he had actually made eye contact with her, out of all the people sitting there, which gave her the lovely feeling that something was alive and moving in her stomach.

He continued: �I want to welcome each and every one of you to the Academy. I know without a doubt that every individual included in this group before me, is one of the most intelligent and promising young people in the world today.�

�Young people?� Chelle thought with disappointment. �But he�s really not that much older than me...�

�Every one of you is here for a purpose, and I trust that you will all be able to live up to the demands of this new lifestyle. These first few days will be spent in adjusting to your new life and environment, however, so I want you all to relax, have a good time, and be ready to learn new things. Most importantly, I want you all to make every effort to personally get to know every one of your classmates. I know there are a lot of you, but keep in mind that you are a team. In order for this team to function properly under both pleasant and adverse circumstances, we must all be more than just acquainted with each other, we must know each other well, and learn to trust one another. Think of this group as a large machine, if you will, working toward a variety of different goals. If there are holes in the machine, or if certain parts don�t fit together properly, there will be problems with the efficiency and quality of the things that are produced.

Obviously, we are going to have our differences. Many of us come from different countries, and have different customs, upbringings, traditions, and lifestyles. I am hoping that by the end of this year, we will all have learned a lot about each other - enough to tolerate our differences, and hopefully to accept those things that cannot be changed. It will require extra effort, and even a few sacrifices from each of us, but the end result will be worth it.

Our goal is to create a thorough, efficient, and productive team, without taking away the individuality of its members.

One of the first things we will be learning this year, is communication, which is, I believe, the most important asset that a team can have. Efficient communication enables us to understand each other better, and also to share our knowledge with each other when we are not all together, which will be most of the time. Even the most knowledgeable and well-trained team can become worthless if its members do not know how to communicate properly with each other.

Therefore, this year you will be learning sign language, and morse code, as well as other less-common forms of spoken and written communications. Even though those methods may seem outdated, I believe that they can be just as necessary as learning to communicate using modern technology. Technology will be a wonderful tool and enhancement for us as a team, but it cannot define us. We should be able to function forwards and backwards, with or without the extra help of technology. I want every single one of you to be able to communicate any message quickly and efficiently, in any circumstance that you may find yourselves in. That will be the groundwork for this team.

Over the course of the next few weeks, I want to personally get to know every single one of you.� Chelle�s heart fluttered again. �I want to know your strengths and weaknesses, in order to decide what your place will be in this team. All of you will have a job to do, with skills to learn and practice. All of your jobs will be different, but equal at the same time. And all of you will be equally valuable to the team as a whole.�

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009