remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Life is a danger [Saturday, Jul. 24, 2004, 5:04 pm]

I'll admit, I was a little disappointed with my car last night. For some reason, the window on the passenger side just wouldn't go up. It was stuck half-way. I was a tad upset, because I haven't had the car for very long, and I didn't want it to start falling apart on me after only a few weeks.

So last night I took a big black trash bag out there and taped it over the window. Good thing too, because it rained hard during the night. Well, today I told my dad about the window, so this afternoon he went out there to look at it. It really didn't take long. So I went out there and he told me what the problem was.

"Your window lock was on."

Oh. Okay. Well, I guess that's not so bad. I feel stupid, but other than that... Hey, I was born a blonde, what can I do about it?

I still hate driving. Sometimes it seems like I've had too many close calls - as if something worse should have happened to me by now. Worse than just breaking a mirror off my dad's car. Sometimes I feel like quitting something, just because I make a lot of mistakes (or even a few). It's perfectionism.

But I'm realizing that I'm going to make a lot of mistakes in life too, not just driving. Just because I make a mistake in life doesn't mean I need to quit. I should be looking at driving the same way. Maybe the danger of driving is what scares me sometimes. Plus the fact that the average person will be involved in at least 2 car accidents in their lifetime. It's hard to imagine being in an accident. You feel so safe and comfortable in the driver's seat. But in a matter of seconds, you could be dead. Sometimes one little slip is all it takes. That's what scares me. But that's how we live our lives, isn't it? Anything could happen to me, anytime. Living is a risk that everyone takes, and I for one, need to make sure I don't stress over the risks so much that I lose sight of the joys. Caution is good, anxiety is bad.

*Laura*

"Desire is half of life, indifference is half of death."

-Kahlil Gibran-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009