remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

An American verse [Sunday, Jul. 04, 2004, 11:31 am]

Right before my family leaves for a few days, I thought I'd put up a song here in honor of July 4th. This is the 4th verse of "The Star Spangled banner", our national anthem. Most people don't know that there are 4 verses to that song - we only sing #1. But I love verse 4 as much as I love verse 1, because I think it's very relevant to these times. So here it is:

"O thus be it ever when free men shall stand,
Between their loved homes, and war's desolation
Blessed with victory and peace, may that Heaven-rescued land
Praise the Power that hath made and preserved us a nation.
Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just,
And this be our motto: "In God is our Trust."
And the Star-Spangled Banner in triumph shall wave,
O'er the land of the free and the home of the brave."

Can you imagine the complaining some people would do if we sang that verse nowadays? They like to say that this country wasn't founded on Biblical principles. If that's true, then why did we pick this to be our national anthem?

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009