remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Bon voyage [Saturday, Jul. 03, 2004, 4:53 pm]

I don't know if I can survive 3 whole days without my computer - me & my family will be off to visit my Aunt & Uncle for a few days. We should be back late Wednesday, if everything works out.

I need to start packing. I'm surprised at myself - usually I start packing for things several days in advance.

The main reason we're visitng them now, is because they'll be leaving for the Ivory Coast sometime next month, as missionaries. It'll be sad to see them go - they've been home on furlough for over a year now. I guess I just got so used to seeing them at Thanksgiving, Christmas, and other family gatherings. And now they'll be leaving for who knows how many years.

But I know they're doing the right thing. I've always admired missionaries - people who are willing to give up all the comforts of this life to go help others. I suppose it's very Frodo-esque in some ways. Okay, sorry, I've got LotR on the brain. But seriously, those people are amazing. And we'll certainly miss them.

Especially since my Uncle is one of the funniest people I know. I think he has trouble remembering the names of me and my 6 siblings (but my dad does too, so I can't blame him), so when he greets us he always refers to us by whatever random name he thinks up off the top of his head - none of them are right. I don't know how he does it with a straight face.

Anyway, I hope everyone has a great Independence Day!

*Laura*

"You don't have to worry about the world ending today - it's already tomorrow in Australia."

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009