remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Let's hear it for uniqueness!! [Wednesday, Jun. 30, 2004, 9:59 am]

I was doing a bit of reading on the internet, and was very interested to come across some of the symptoms for anemia (low iron in the blood). They include dizziness, feeling faint, and poor circulation. Apparently, this is something a lot of girls my age are troubled with, because I've heard of at least 3 girls I know who are dealing with this.

So maybe that's why I've had this trouble with passing out and feeling faint - maybe I have an iron deficiency. I'd always thought my problem was dehydration and low blood sugar, but I'm hoping it was this, because it seems to make more sense to me. I started taking multivitamins a little while ago, since they have plenty of iron, and I think they've helped. I used to get these cravings for peanut butter (which is rich in iron), but now I don't anymore. So I'm really hoping that this is the answer to my "feeling faint" problems!

Also in the subject of health (I know you just love it when I talk about this stuff) ... I might need braces! Fortunately, I won't need headgear (*breathes huge sigh of relief*), but braces will help me out. We haven't decided anything for sure though. (A lot will depend on insurance & all that stuff).

My orthadontist also said there was a way to change my smile, if I wanted to do that. See, when most people smile, all you can see is their teeth. But when I smile, you can see a good portion of the gums above my upper teeth. Apparently, there's a way to fix that. But I decided there's no need to do that, and he agreed with me.

I think it's sad how people are willing to spend so much money just to try to change themselves. Sometimes it's a good thing, but when it's for looks and not medical reasons, then it's kinda sad. Sad that people (mainly women) feel that they're not good enough the way they are.

That doesn't mean we have to love everything about ourselves. There are lots of things about myself that I don't like (glasses, frizzy hair, and now braces...the whole 9 yards), and that's okay. But I can accept myself the way I am, even if I don't adore the way I look. I should be glad I don't look like "everyone else" instead of spending all my money trying to do so.

That all reminds me of something I saw yesterday on our trip to Boothbay Harbor. We were at an aquarium, and they had a few lobsters in different tanks. One of them had a shell that was electric blue. Seriously. I would have photographed it, but I figured the glare from the tank would ruin it. There was another lobster that weighed 17 pounds. It was huge! And yet another had a shell that was the normal reddish brown on one side, and light orange on the other.

It kinda struck me that the only lobsters people really want to look at are the ones that are different than all the others. The chance of finding a blue lobster is 1 in a million. Nobody wants to display ordinary-looking lobsters at an aquarium, because they all look the same - it'd bore people. It's the different ones that draw our attention.

That's why I'm beginning to be more accepting of the fact that I'm different from others. If I was just like everybody else, I wouldn't stand out. And I'm easy enough to ignore as it is!

It's funny how I'm always so thrilled to see people displaying their uniqueness and talents, but when it comes to me, I often want to just blend in and not be unique. I'm still working on it. But accepting myself is the first step, and I'd say I'm doing much better at that than I used to.

*Laura*

"To suppose that the eye ... could have been formed by natural selection, seems, I freely confess, absurd in the highest degree."

-Charles Darwin-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009