remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Gotta love Grandparents [Monday, Jun. 28, 2004, 10:25 pm]

It's been cool to just hang around at the table, playing "Oh Pshaw" (aka "Oh heck"), with my dad, brother, and grandpa. It's a fun game - unpredictable too.

It's been fun with our grandparents here, because they always spoil us. Our microwave busted a few weeks ago, and my grandpa went out today and got a new one pretty cheaply, but it's much better than our old one. It's funny how much we rely on things like microwaves - we certainly don't need one, it's just a convenience - not like a stove or fridge. But we're so used to just zapping our leftovers for lunch, so I've been eating stuff cold for the last few weeks, because I'm not used to waiting for things to heat up in the oven. I'm just used to getting it instantly, right when I want it.

Maybe that's why people tend to be so impatient - they've been trained to expect things instantly.

Anyway, yesterday we went for a hike up a "mountain", although it was less than a mile to the top. (We decided it would help to work off some of our Olive Garden calories from the night before) I found a few places on the summit, where it looked like it was the edge of the "mountain", but when I got closer, I realized it just sloped down a bit, and didn't drop off until much further. So I got some of my younger siblings to go over and lie down on their stomachs, gripping the rocky ground in front of them to make it look like they were hanging off the edge, and I took a few "cliffhanger" pictures of them. If they come out good, I might put some on here later.

Oh, and one more thing... on the way home, we stopped at a little ice cream place. I got cookie dough, and it was soo good, because it was homemade, and they put huge chunks of real cookie dough in it. Let's just say, I'm glad I got a small dish - that stuff was rich!

Okay, that's enough for now. Goodnight!

*Laura*

"I ain't saying the customer service in my bank is bad, but when I went in the other day and asked the clerk to check my balance...she leaned over and pushed me."

-Anonymous

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009