remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

What if we all hung around? [Sunday, Jun. 13, 2004, 11:40 am]

My mom kinda got her dates mixed up today. Apparently she didn't find out that today wasn't really Father's day until after she'd started making breakfast in bed for my dad. But we all brought it up there for him anyway, and he had a nice early Father's day present. As I was going out, he asked, "So, do I get breakfast in bed next week too?"

Well, things have been going well over here. I'm getting more hours at my job, and found out I got even more financial aid grants for college. I really do have a lot to be thankful for, so sometimes I wish I didn't always look at the worst-case scenario view of things.

Oh well. I just realized that this will be my 200th entry. I've been at diaryland for over a year now, even though I haven't taken it seriously for that long (back when I had about 3 internet diaries going). But I'm so glad to be here - I've met some really great people, and had a lot of fun. Even if I get to the point during college where I have to seriously limit my internet time (which I'm sure will happen), diaryland will be one of the last things I'd consider slowing down on. In fact, I hope I can stay here for a long time.

Wouldn't it be cool if me and all (or at least most) of the people on my buddy list stayed on here for years? ... all the way through college, career, marriage, family, etc. I know a lot of the time in real life, friends often lose touch, because they go in different directions sometimes, and move away and don't hear from each other for a long time. But with the internet, we don't have to do that. We can just keep updating our diaries, and reading, and stay 'friends' for as long as we choose to remain here.

I know, not everyone could, or will, do that. Some of my buddies here will probably just decide they don't have the time or desire to keep up an internet diary. But I think it'd be really neat if a bunch of us made it far into adulthood on diaryland. I actually have seen a few adults on here, so it's not just a teen thing. Well, for my part, I'm going to try to stay here as long as I can, even if I have to take breaks now & then.

Right now, most of the people whose diaries I read talk about things like school, growing up, friends, etc. Can you imagine if any of us are here 10 years from now, we might be talking about our kids, our jobs, and things like that? I know, maybe I have too much of the future in mind here. This is what I was talking about last time - I like to dwell on the past and the future, but not the present. But as long as I focus on what's going on now, the future will get here in its own time.

Ok, I'll stop speculating now, and just let things happen here as they may. But still, I enjoy thinking about what things might be like someday...

*Laura*

"The future ain't what it used to be."

-Yogi Berra-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009