remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Abortion and slavery [Wednesday, Jun. 02, 2004, 2:50 pm]

Wow, I really can't believe it's June already! And judging by the weather today, it's also hard to realize that it's almost summer. We've had rain for what seems like weeks now. Well, at least I can hope that the coldness outside has killed some of the pesky mosquitoes that are already out. Those things are seriously the most annoying creatures ever created! Why didn't Noah swat the two he brought on the ark? That's what I wanna know...

I went to Wal*mart on Monday, and got 2 nice shirts from clearance for only $3 each. Go me! It seems like I can't go into wal*mart without finding (and buying) at least one thing from clearance. I don't know why though - heaven knows I have enough clothes. I guess it's just a girl thing.

Anyway, I read a very interesting quote today:

"How many legs does a dog have if you call the tail a leg? Four. Calling a tail a leg doesn't make it a leg." -Abraham Lincoln

At first I didn't think that sounded like something he would say, but I realized it was just an illustration. And then it made perfect sense. Because that's exactly what people do - we call things something other than what they really are, in order to fool people (even ourselves). In Lincoln's time, the issue was slavery.

Just because some people said that blacks weren't people, didn't mean that it was true. If Abraham Lincoln was alive today, you know what I think he'd use that illustration about? Abortion. It just seems so obvious: "Calling a baby a fetus doesn't make it a fetus." Does it? Everyone should know that murder is wrong, but when we change the terminology we use, we can even fool ourselves, sadly.

We need another Abraham Lincoln. He (or she) wouldn't be popular in a good way, because he would do things that made people very angry, even though they are the right things. We look back on Lincoln as a great man now, and he was, but most people didn't think so back then. Maybe this is why I like history so much; because the stupid things we do nowadays are often very closely related to the stupid things people did in the past. We never change, do we? I wish everyone knew how to take a lesson from history...

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009