remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Remember [Monday, May. 31, 2004, 5:36 pm]

Happy Memorial Day everyone! Don't forget what it's all about. Reading about the Vietnam War a few weeks ago, and the horrendous ways that American veterans were treated by the American people, has made me feel even more grateful this year towards the men and women who died to give this generation a chance. Don't forget them!

I don't know anyone very well who is a veteran, but I know my mom had an Uncle who died in WW2, and my dad has a relative who was shot 5 times in combat and lived to tell about it. I will definitely try to remember to pray for our troops that are still out there fighting and dying for us Americans, even those of us who give them no respect.

I wasn't expecting to go to a parade or anything today, but my family did, since me and my mom were in town anyway, and I think it was nice. It wasn't too long. They just didn't throw us enough candy! (kidding). Seeing all the huge fire engines toward the end brought back memories of the first parade I can remember. I was probably 2 or 3 years old, and I vividly remember all the huge ambulances, fire trucks, and police cars that went by, honking their horns at full volume and blaring their sirens. I remember being terrified. I was crying and crying, and my dad was just trying to make me realize that I was okay, and not in any danger, but it was the loudest noise I'd ever heard in my life, so I can't blame myself for freaking out.

Anyway, before the parade, I had to get up at the ungodly hour of 7, to have my senior pictures done. It was pretty cool. I decided to consider today a 'mascara occasion'. I hope the pictures turn out good - they were taken outdoors at a few different spots in town, and it was actually fun to do, after I relaxed a bit. I remember the last time I had my pictures taken professionally, about 2 years ago at Wal*mart. They were awful. So I'm definitely hoping that these will come out better.

After that, I went to work for 2 hours today. Oh yes, did I mention I kinda have a job now? It's at a small local diner. Today was my first day and I was very nervous, but I guess it wasn't too bad. The diner was actually closed though, so I was just helping make foods to sell in the convenience store part of the building. The only concern I have about working there is the heat. I'm just...not very good in heat. I'll bring water from now on though.

It's hard to believe I actually have a job - even if it's just a few hours a week. It's just kinda strange. It always takes me a long time to get comfortable in new situations, so I hope it won't take me too long to get used to this.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009