remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Oh, the joys of being done with high school [Thursday, May. 20, 2004, 6:13 pm]

Ahhh, so nice to be free. Actually, one of the best things about being done with school now is that I can read anything without having to keep track of my time. That was one of the most annoying things about homeschooling through high school - for a few of the subjects, mainly english and history, I had to keep track of the time I spent doing them, in order to earn my credits. Which certainly got annoying at times. That's why I liked doing them when I had a long stretch of time with nothing to do so I could read what I needed to without interruption.

Now I can just read and set the book down as many times as I want, without having to keep track of when I stopped and started. Freedom! Speaking of reading, for the past 2 days I've been reading Harpo Marx's autobiography. He certainly wasn't as angellic as the faun he played in the movies, but I suppose you can expect that from a kid who grew up in a very poor family in NYC at the turn of the century. Still, there were some pretty funny moments, my favorite being this, which is when his mother shoved him on stage for the first time in his life:

"I came to a halt beside Lou Levy. I turned. And there They were. A sea of hostile, mocking faces across the footlights. And here I was, with nothing to hold onto, absolutely nothing. With my first look at my first audience I reverted to being a boy again. My reaction was instantaneous and overwhelming. I wet my pants. It was probably the most wretched debut in the history of show business."

Gosh, he came a long way after that!

All that reading I did kinda reminded me of when I used to be a big fan of the Left Behind series. Even though the books were around 400 pages long, I used to devour them as fast as I could. Not so anymore, but I still have the capability to devour books, when I am so inclined to do so.

Anyway, today, I got a haircut. My first in 2 years. And it was about time. My ends were all scraggly & definitely needed a trim. So now it looks much better, although I did lose some length. I've always wanted a long cascade of waist-length hair, but I suppose that just isn't going to happen, *sigh*. No matter - I'm getting some senior pictures done next week, so this was good timing.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009