remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Yes, I'm one of those women drivers with bad depth perception [Monday, May. 10, 2004, 12:52 pm]

I suppose every new driver has to do something stupid at some point in their teenagehood, right?

Well, yesterday I was driving up to an ATM so my dad could get some money, and, um, I got a little too close to the edge of it. I knew I'd have to get pretty close to be able to reach it from the car anyway, so I guess I was trying a little too hard, and...I broke the mirror off. Well, not totally, off - it was hanging by a few cables. And it stayed on while we went to Movie Gallery and drove home. And after that my dad super-glued it, so hopefully it will be ok. Fortunately, my dad wasn't mad at me or anything.

I think that's a good thing about my parents - they don't think kids should be punished for making 'learning mistakes' like that. I have a friend who's 15 and has a permit - she says she accidently hit the curb and broke a hubcap off, and her dad made her pay for it. I think that's a bit harsh, personally, so I'm glad my parents aren't taking it too seriously - cuz I'm always hard on myself anyway.

But I know I'm not the only one who's caused damage to a parent's car while learning to drive - cuz afterall, that's what parents' cars are FOR, right? *wink*

Anyway, yesterday a few of us went to a different church's evening service (our church doesn't have one), to hear Jake preach. I think he did a good job, even if he went a bit long. Wow, if you'd told me 5 or 6 years ago that he'd someday be preaching from the pulpit, I never would have believed it.

So that was cool. Yesterday I spent a lot of time at Epinions.com. It's a site where you can write detailed reviews of just about anything. And then other people can rate your reviews as to how helpful they are - plus you can READ reviews on just about anything, which can be very helpful if you're considering buying them. I've reviewed a few movies so far, and I've been thinking of plenty of ideas for other things to review too - it's a lot of fun.

Last night we watched "Monkey Business", yet another Marx brothers movie. Groucho's character seemed to be a bit more 'risque' in this one. Instead of just proposing to rich widows played by Margaret Dumont, he was actually going after some girl. But it was still hilarious. And it didn't have much of a 'filler sub-plot' to it - just Marx mischief throughout the whole thing. Very funny. A few more quotes have been added somewhere on that page too.

Well, I guess there's nothing else interesting I feel like speaking of at the moment - goodbye for now.

*Eowyn*

PS. My mouth is feeling a bit sore, but a lot better :-) So that's good...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009