remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Friends are growing up...and so am I [Saturday, May. 08, 2004, 9:16 pm]

I just found out something today. Jake, a guy who used to be in our youth group, just got engaged! Wow. And I remember when he was an immature 13-year-old. He certainly has changed a lot ever since he left for Bible school though.

I remember when I got to talk to him for the first time after he started Bible school (our youth group goes up there every year for a teen retreat). Jake had always been the talkative one in youth group. He was a good kid, and definitely a Christian, but I don't know if I would have considered him to be very 'spiritual'. But anyway, I was talking to him at the retreat about something I was concerned about (probably college, or boys, or some such problem), and I still remember his response to me: "Pray about it."

I was shocked. Jake? The guy who always made a joke out of everything? He was sincerely telling me to pray? But it was so cool. He has definitely matured and changed so much since he went to Bible school. I remember when I used to be more mature than him, but that's hardly the case now.

Tonight there was a concert at our church, put on by members of NBBI (the school he's going to), and we showed up too late for it (my parents were at an anniversary party, and I was home watching my little bro). But we got to hang around for a bit and talk with the students for a while. They're great people, and I remember seeing most of them at retreats before.

It was funny, one of the guys found out I was graduating highschool this year, so he goes over and gets an NBBI application and pen, and he's like "Ok, first name please?" And then he said something like, "We really want you to go to this school; in fact, I'll give you 10 seconds to decide. No wait, 5 seconds."

I seriously am wondering about going there. It's not an accredited school though. At first I thought that people only went to Bible school if they wanted to be pastors or missionaries, but this school is really for anyone who wants a firm Biblical education. They have a one-year program, and a lot of people take that before going on to an accredited school to study something else.

But I still don't know. I'm applying to the University of Maine right now. In fact, I already did it. It's funny how it took me weeks to finally get all my applications out last fall, but now, when time is short, I can get it all done in a day. Well, I'll pray about it, and hope that God will continue to direct me.

*Eowyn*

P.S. I did a little bit of organizing in the Reads & links section, as well as the Marx brothers quotes section, in case anyone was wondering.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009