remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The wonders of anatomy [Friday, May. 07, 2004, 8:57 pm]

Wow, I never knew there was an entire website dedicated to the movie A night at the opera. So I've been having a bit of fun there today. I pre-ordered the dvd a while ago too; can't wait til it gets here!

Anyway, I just got back from Awana - and fortunately, I WAS able to eat some pizza :-) My mouth is still pretty sore, but at least it's not bleeding anymore.

Good news as far as schoolwork goes - today I finished my over-500-page anatomy book! I took the final test, on the subject of, *ahem*, reproduction. All in all, it was an amazing course. I didn't even have to take it this year, because I had enough science credits already, but I wanted to give it a try, and I'm SO glad I did.

I'm also glad I got to learn about the human body from a Christian perspective. The people who wrote that book were great - they made sure to give all the credit to God for the design of the human body. Not to some supposed freak accident billions of years ago.

You know, sometimes I wonder if learning about how truly amazing the human body is would make a difference in how teenagers (and all people for that matter) look at themselves. Would people be so careless about drug use, smoking, or alcohol if they realized what a marvel their bodies truly were? If people really believed that the human body is the most intricately designed thing in the world, that 'modern science' hasn't even come CLOSE to duplicating, wouldn't that help out with the self-esteem issues that are running rampant?

I still remember something that was said by one of the members of the Power Team, when we saw them live a few years ago. He said that they often did presentations in public schools. They're all Christians, but they aren't even allowed to say the name "Jesus" when they're in public schools. But they also do presentations in jails, and it's ok for them to mention Jesus there. One of them made the comment that maybe if they were allowed to tell the kids in public schools just how much Jesus loved them, then perhaps not quite so many of them would end up in jail at all. It's an interesting thing to think about.

But yes, back to what I was saying before. Human anatomy is totally an astounding subject, and it's definitely given me a greater appreciation for the body God's given me. How could I ever think of doing drugs when I know how much it would harm the amazingly efficient systems in my body? Not that I'd do drugs anyway, but now it's a no-brainer.

It's hard to believe that I own my very own individualized copy of the most efficient system ever designed - the human body. And I didn't even have to pay a cent for it.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009