remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Books, and crying over them [Friday, Apr. 16, 2004, 12:25 pm]

Isn't everyone just dying for another one of my 'the books I'm reading right now' updates? Good! I knew you loved those.

Well, I'm on my last book for English this year, 'Great Expectations', which is very long, but not too bad. I'd say the beginning and the ending have been the most exciting parts so far - a lot of the stuff in the middle was a tad monotonous. The story is pretty good though. I knew generally what happened, from watching the kids' show "Wishbone" (I loved that! How I wish it was still on :-/ I'd seriously watch it if it was). But it's nice to know all the details too.

I think it's a bit 'mysterious' at times too. Especially the parts pertaining to Miss Havisham. Has anyone ever noticed that some British novels from that time period tend to be a bit mysterious-sounding at times? Maybe it's just the cultural differences of the time, I don't know. But I like it, just the same.

The next book on my list for history is one of my favorite WW2 books of all time, "The hiding place". I've read it once before, so I was thinking about skipping it, since there are a lot of others on the list that I might not get to unless I do a LOT of reading, but I decided to read it again, and I'm glad I did.

I just read this really sad part, that doesn't make a whole lot of sense, which is why it's kinda sad. Corrie (the one who wrote the book), was in love with this man, and he was the first person she ever loved. And she had hoped that he was serious, and that they would get married sometime. But what ended up happening, was that he got engaged to a different woman, only because his parents wanted him to 'marry well'. It's so sad...you just want to scream at him "Cut a few apron strings and marry the girl who loves you instead!!!". *sigh*. And Corrie never did end up getting married. So sad.

You know something I've realized? See, up until a little while ago, I've always thought of myself as "the kind of person who doesn't cry over movies/music/books, etc." But I'm beginning to realize that that's not the case. I just don't cry over all the things that 'most girls' cry over, like stupid, mushy romances with no substance to them. But there still are things that make me cry.

And I suppose that's true of everyone, it's just that not everyone has found what really makes them cry. So from now on, I won't say "I'm the kind of person who doesn't cry over [media of some sort]". I'll just say, "That's not the kind of [media] that gets me going." Or something to that extent.

Well, glad to get that figured out.

Crazy hair night is tonight! I think I could really do something good if I wasn't such a fumble-fingers with hair. We'll see how it turns out...

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009