remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

School-related stuff [Tuesday, Apr. 13, 2004, 12:03 pm]

It's all overcast outside today, and that just makes things seem overly lazy. Especially since I hardly have anything going on this week, except for school.

Speaking of school, I had music lessons yesterday as usual. I mentioned I was thinking of quitting after April, but I've decided not to. My teacher said that she'll be teaching lessons for the year until the beginning of June, so I suppose I can go that long. I did arrange to have the week after my surgery off though, because I highly doubt I'll feel like practicing when my mouth is in pain.

I guess it's a good thing that I've decided to keep doing clarinet until the school year is over. I think, unfortunately, when it comes to things that aren't really 'enjoyable' to me, like music, I just tend to not do a good job on them. Oh, I practice sometimes, when it's convenient, or when I feel like it. But I don't try as hard as I can, and I think my teacher notices that sometimes. I sometimes rationalize it to myself by thinking, "Hey, I'm not a musician. I'm only doing this because my parents make me, and once my senior year is over, I highly doubt I'll be taking lessons again, so why bother try?"

It's not so much what I'm doing that's bad, because I'm right about one thing, not everyone is made to be a musician. But I'm beginning to realize my attitude is bad. Because if I'm going to be in college for the next 4 years, I can guarantee I'll have to do plenty of things that aren't 'enjoyable' to me. I need to learn to give something my all, whether or not it's my favorite thing to do. That's why I've decided that when it comes to music, I want to finish well, even if I don't like it all that much.

It doesn't matter if I never pick up a clarinet again in my life. I need to work harder on it, instead of being lazy, because learning how to do that could come in handy in other circumstances I might be faced with. Plus, wouldn't it give me a whole lot more satisfaction to know that I worked hard on something until it was done, rather than just doing enough to get by? I hope it will.

I guess it's all about self-discipline. I just need to make myself do it more often, cuz practicing twice a week for 15 minutes each time really isn't enough.

And speaking of school yet again, I got a postcard in the mail yesterday from the National Society of High School Scholars. The first part of it said:

"During this important time in your academic career, I wish to congratulate you on your outstanding academic achievement. You have been nominated for membership in the National Society of High School Scholars....."

Apparently if I qualify nationally, I'll be invited to join the Society, or something like that. Two things I'm most curious about: 1). What exactly does it mean?, and most importantly, 2). Who nominated me??? There are only two people I could think of who know anything about me academically; my mom, (and maybe my dad), and the teacher who looks over my work every year and assigns high school credit. Maybe it was her. If so, I certainly appreciate it, but I guess in a few days I'll find out whether I've 'qualified nationally', and what exactly that means to me. It certainly sounds like a good thing. Maybe the reason I've never heard of it before is because I'm a homeschooler, who knows.

Well anyway, I don't have much more to say, other than my mom has decided that I need to go on hikes in the woods 3 times this week. *grumble*, thanks for taking the fun out of everything.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009