remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Ouch! [Thursday, Apr. 08, 2004, 6:44 pm]

Like I said last entry, I had that appointment with the oral surgeons today. I have bad, scary, evil news to share with you. I have to get my wisdom teeth out! Ack! And I've never had surgery before in my life! It's pretty scary just thinking about it. We haven't set a date for it yet. But I'm sure it will be in a few weeks. I know I said I went to find out what was wrong with my jaw not opening all the way, but they took an X-ray for that and that's when they noticed I had impacted wisdom teeth.

The doctor said that one thing that may be causing my jaw to have problems is my bite. I've known for a while that I have an overbite, but so far she's the first doctor who thinks it's contributing to the problem. Which makes a ton of sense to me because as soon as the problem started happening, I immediately thought it was because of the overbite.

By the way, the X-ray was pretty weird. I thought it would be this long complicated procedure, but I just stood in front of this machine and put my face in it, and then bit down on this piece of plastic that was sticking out. And I had to stay that way while a part of the machine moved across in front of my face. It was kind of awkward.

At least one good thing about all this is that somehow, I only have 3 wisdom teeth instead of 4. One of my bottom ones is missing. Hey, if I have to get them removed anyway, then 3 is definitely better than 4!

But anyway, when I get that surgery done, they're going to probe around in my jaw to see if they can fix the problem. Basically they think a disc has come dislocated. I won't bore you with all the details (as if I haven't already), but if they can get it to work, then I should be able to open my mouth all the way once again.

After that gets done, I might have to wear braces for a while, to straighten out my overbite so this kinda thing won't happen again. I really think I should've had that fixed years ago, as soon as we knew about it, but oh well, too late now.

Hehe, I remember when I was a lot younger, I thought braces were so cool-looking. And I still do actually, but still, I'm sure they aren't fun to wear. The bad part is, I have glasses too, and glasses and braces together just kinda say 'geek'. Oh well, I'm a geek anyway; and I suppose I'm proud of it too. What would look really cool is if I had just braces, and contacts instead of glasses. That wouldn't be so bad.

Oh, this reminds me of something my little friend Jessica said: "It's not fair, I don't get to have glasses or braces." Um, Jessica ... that's REALLY not such a bad thing!

So anyway, I never did go on a 'fitness' walk today - appointment took up too much time, buahahaha! I'll try to do one later this week though, just for fun. Cuz the weather has been awesome today! I didn't even need a jacket. Hard to believe only a few days ago we had snow!

Well, this has been more than enough blabbering for one day - goodbye!

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009