remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My lack of confidence hasn't gotten me anywhere [2004-03-29, 12:45 p.m.]

Wow, it's a great day outside. It's sunny, and so warm that my little siblings are going around barefoot. Yeah, outside. That's just a BIT desperate if you ask me, but hey, it's good to kiss cabin fever goodbye. Speaking of kids, now I think I know what my Grandma meant when she said, "Enjoy this time while you have it." The little kids don't have to worry about money, or their futures, or college, or scholarship money, uncertainties about life, or anything like that. They can just go outside and play.

Speaking of scholarships, I'm working on my last application at the moment, and I think it's almost done. But the hardest part is where it asks for a list of my 'accomplishments, awards, honors, and extra-curricular activities'. Because at the moment, my list contains a grand total of three things, and I honestly can't think of anything else to add that they'd be interested in. I'm fluent in diaper-changing, giving piggy-backs, and reading books to my little brother, does that count for anything? Seriously, all I've put down so far is the fact that I take private clarinet lessons, and a few awards I've won at Awana. *sigh*

Don't get me wrong, I love homeschooling, but I think one definite advantage of going to a public school is more opportunities to get involved in things. Like writing for the newspaper, being in a choir or band, playing a sport. As a homeschooler, I can do some of those things, but it's much more difficult. I'd still choose being homeschooled over public school though. I just sometimes wish I had more opportunities to do things like writing for a school newspaper. Although having more confidence might help me out a bit too.

Oh by the way, I just found out a few days ago that my parents are going away this weekend, and a very nice (and brave, I might add) family from church is going to be 'moving in' with us for the weekend. And they have 3 kids of their own, so a house-full of 10 kids will be kinda crazy. And, my mom wants to take Friday off school so we can 'clean up the house for them'. *ahem*, I have schoolwork to get done on Friday. They already know our house is a mess - scrubbing it till it squeaks isn't going to profit anything. *sigh*.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009