remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I'm gonna have to work on my parents tonight... [2004-03-24, 12:07 p.m.]

In case nobody else knew this, "Turn off the TV week" is coming up sometime next month. Of course, when my parents found out about it, they got this bright idea, "Hey, why don't we make it 'turn off the computer week too!" Isn't that great? If they choose to do that, then my only window to the outside world will be gone for a whole week and I'll shrivel up and die. Well, not really, but I really hope I can get them to reconsider. Now, I really don't think this would apply to MY computer, cuz I didn't spend $1000 on it just so my parents could tell me when I could & couldn't use it. But, as my mom pointed out, "We're the ones who pay for the phone line you use."

So my reasoning is this: If my younger siblings will still be allowed to talk on the phone with their friends during TV turnoff week, then I should be able to communicate with MY friends, and the internet is just the way I happen to do that. They just don't seem to realize that the internet is the closest thing I have to a social life! Seriously, I'm NOT good with the phone; the 'net is better, and I don't know the #'s of anyone I know on here anyway. So hopefully they'll allow me at least some time. It's not final yet anyway, cuz my mom has to talk to my dad about it. Boy, I'll sure have a bunch of my 'logical reasoning points' to bombard him with as soon as he gets home! ;-) Cuz it's not like losing the internet is gonna kill me - I've done it for a few days before, when we go camping & stuff. But that's because I was away from home. It really makes no sense to be restricted from it when I'm just at home twiddling my thumbs. Especially if I haven't done anything wrong.

To be honest, turning off the TV doesn't really bother me, cuz I really don't care about most of the stuff we watch, and I certainly don't watch TV that much myself anyway, except for an occasional movie or a few old Beverly Hillbillies episodes. Still, I don't see why they have to drag computers into it too. Sometimes it seems that if they find a good way to restrict us, they always have to add to it somehow. *sigh*.

But really, the thing I'd miss the most is diaryland, if I had to leave the 'net for a week (which hopefully I won't have to). I don't know if you guys realize it or not, but all of you really are my friends (those of you on my buddy list, who read often enough to be reading this right now). I really do enjoy checking in on what you're all up to, and I get bummed whenever I sign in and my buddy list thing isn't red. It's just that, once you've been reading what someone writes about their life, after a certain amount of time, you really feel like you know them. Almost as if they might as well be in your youth group (or school) or something, ya know?

Well, hopefully none of that will come to pass anyway (getting restricted from the 'net), but I just had to talk about it anyway. So, today we did the senior deliveries for the food bank. More delivery people were on vacation this time, so we had four extra people to deliver to again. But it wasn't bad. Afterwards, we stopped at a local bakery that was actually featured on Oprah last year, and I can see why. I had a cinammon bun; it was SOO good! Who needs lunch when you can stop there instead? Well, I didn't get much school done this morning, so I need to get with it soon.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009