remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I know what I want my next dvd purchase to be... [2004-03-19, 1:36 p.m.]

My mom is at the library right now, returning, among other things, "A night at the opera", *sob*. I hear it comes out on dvd sometime in May though. I am SO getting it! And I want to check out some of their other movies too, as well as Harpo's autobiography.

Well, right now for history I'm reading "The Trapp family singers", the true story behind "The sound of music". I think it's really good. There are definitely a lot of parallels between the book and the movie, although of course not everything is the same. For one thing, the kids in the movie all have different names for some reason. I wonder why they felt that was necessary. And another thing, which I kind of expected, is that there wasn't quite as much 'romance' in the book. Basically, the Captain knew he loved Maria, and not the Princess he was going to marry (yes, she was a Princess and not a Baroness, although she still seemed stuck up like she did in the movie).

But Maria really didn't want to marry the Captain at first. She actually went back to the Abbey to ask the Reverend Mother, and she told Maria that it was the will of God that she marry the Captain. Not to face her troubles, 'Climb every mountain', or anything like that. Although that's still similar too. I'm only about 7 chapters into the book though, so I'm sure lots of other things will be different too. But it's been a good read so far.

*Eowyn*

PS. I added a 'cast' page, which I'm sure was way overdue ('cept I called it 'co-stars', just to be original).

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009