remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Youth retreat & stories [2004-02-19, 12:08 p.m.]

No school tomorrow and we leave on our winter retreat, yay! I think we have about 10 kids from our church going up for it. Which is pretty good. The first time I went (2000), we had to take 2 15-passenger vans to hold all the kids, leaders, and their stuff. But for the past few years, we've only had about 6 or 7 kids going.

It's cool, but kinda sad how youth groups change. I remember when I first started going I thought I was so priviledged cuz everyone there was so much older than me, and got to do all kinds of cool things. But now I'm the oldest one there (yeah, we have a small youth group), and I have a hard time believing anyone looks at me that way. Maybe some do, I dunno; it's just hard to picture.

Well, I'll do as much packing as I can today, and then add a few extra things tomorrow. It's about a five-hour drive from our church up to Canada (yep, we're going to Canada - as if it wasn't cold enough down here in Maine ;-). So I always make sure to bring plenty of cd's & stuff. I remember last year we all got notebooks & pens from our leaders, so on the ride up, after I got tired of listening to music, I decided to just start writing a story that I'd been thinking about. I did about 2 pages of it in the van (I can't do things like that for very long in a moving vehicle or I get sick), and then did several more pages after I got home.

I'd really like to finish it sometime. Trouble is, I've already got 2 stories going on my laptop right now, and I know that if I start writing every single story that comes to me, I'll never finish any of them!

Oh well. I updated my '100 things' list a little bit - I'm almost to 90 now.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009