remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Christmas tree, colds, and college rules [2003-12-14, 2:19 p.m.]

We decorated our tree last night, it was lots of fun :-) Ooh, I read the comics in the Sunday paper today, "Foxtrot" was so funny, as usual. It was about Jason giving their house a "Lord of the rings" Christmas makeover.

You can read it at Foxtrot.com

I had a really bad cold this morning, so I didn't go to church either. Gee, lots of people I know are sick! I guess that's just winter for ya. But mom gave me some medicine so I'm feeling a lot better now.

I don't think I've said this yet, silly me: I got a call a few days ago from my admissions counselor at ENC... I've been accepted!! That's so cool! And I'm guaranteed at least $7,000 a year because of my SAT scores. Of course, that still leaves about $17,000 to be paid each year, which we can't do. But I haven't filled out the FAFSA yet (I will on Jan 1st), and hopefully the colleges I applied to will give me some good need-based aid. I won't hear from Messiah until sometime after January 15h, and Gordon doesn't accept applicants until sometime in March!

I was actually thinking about applying to a college in Florida too: Pensacola Christian College. The good thing is that they're very affordable, and *gasp*, it's warm down in Florida! But I've looked into it some more at their website and I've decided not to consider them. I guess the main reason is because they're too legalistic. I knew they had a rule that all girls have to wear dresses, and as I was reading stuff on their site, another thing I found that everyone is prohibited from doing is attending movie theaters. Don't get me wrong here, I'm not choosing not to apply there because I love movie theaters too much (because I hardly ever go myself). I think rules are good for Christian schools, I mean, you have to draw lines at some point. But whether a girl wears dresses or pants should be a personal choice. And I think we should be careful of the movies we watch, but I just think there should be room somewhere for a bit of personal freedom. I believe things that involve personal tastes (like musical styles, movie genres, clothes [as long as they're not immodest or obscene]) should be the choice of each individual, and the college rules should only be used to control things that the Bible specifically addresses: like honesty, modesty, sex, etc. I just wouldn't want to live in a legalistic environment like that for 4 years, even though there are a lot of homeschooled students there.

I want a college that will uphold Biblical standards without compromising, but at the same time, work WITH me to develop the personal aspect of my faith, but just making a bunch of rules isn't going to do that.

Obviously I've never been to PCC before, so I hope I don't sound like I'm making too many generalizations about them, because I'm sure most of the students who go there enjoy it that way...but I've decided it's not for me.

Glad to talk through that to my dear diary :-D It just helps me to understand where I stand on the issue of college rules!

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009